Why are my WhatsApp or Facebook photos no longer saved in Google Photos?

Are you one of those who saves all the photos and videos that arrive in your Google Photos account? If so, you should know that Google has made an important announcement that affects the photos and videos that we receive through messaging applications and social networks. An employee of the company has confirmed in the support forums that automatic backups of photos and videos in Google Photos from some messaging applications and social networks have been disabled. That is, the photos and videos that we receive through applications such as WhatsApp or Facebook will no longer be automatically uploaded to the Google Photos cloud. The reason for this change is due, although it may sound a bit strange, to COVID-19. According to the information provided in the forums, the COVID-19 crisis and the quarantine that we have suffered in almost everyone has caused users to share more photos and videos than usual. So, to save Internet resources, Google has decided to disable the backup and synchronization of the folders created by messaging applications like WhatsApp. Starting today, when we enter Google Photos, we will see a message that will notify us of this change. According to the well-known XDA developer forum, among the applications affected by this change we have some that are widely used such as Facebook, Helo, Instagram, LINE, Messages, Messenger, Snapchat, Twitter, Viber and Whatsapp. All these applications create their own folders on the device when they save a received photo or video, thus being able to have them separate from the photos we take with our own mobile. What has changed is that these folders will no longer be included in the automatic backup that Google Photos performs. We can change these settings so that everything remains the same. Although the application has disabled automatic copying of these folders, it is possible to reactivate it manually if we wish. To do this we have to enter the Google Photos application and go to the Settings menu by clicking on our account icon, upper right. Once here we enter “Photo settings” and click on “Backup and synchronization”. Here we will have to choose the last option, “Folders of the device with backup”. On this screen we will see all the photo and video folders that we have created on our mobile. They generally correspond to the applications that create them automatically, such as WhatsApp. For Google Photos to continue uploading the photos and videos that we receive through these apps to the cloud, all we have to do is enable the check that each folder has on its right. Once this is done we will have automatic synchronization enabled again. Other news about … Facebook, Google Photos, WhatsApp